New Year Resolutions


Although of Asian descent, having lived in Australia now for over 20 years, I would be hard-pressed not to be following some Western traditions.  One of these is the New Year’s tradition of making New Year Resolutions.  I don’t remember actually making one of these that I consciously tried to keep to at any stage, but this year I thought I’d give it a real go.

The main reason behind it was that I felt I was getting lazy, photographically speaking.  Many of you know that Dylan is an insomniac of sorts, waking up in the wee hours of the morning and heading out to take those fabulous sunrise shots.  Me?  Well, I like to sleep in.  So lately I had been feeling that I had not been producing near as many images as I could due to sheer lack of motivation, and as such I felt as though our label had became synonymous with Dylan’s images.

What is your New Year’s Resolution, then? you ask.  Okay, here it is:  (I made a few, actually)

  • I will head out at least once a fortnight to shoot something – anything – and come home and process at least 5 of those images (if less, then I must process all).  This is intended to help me squash my bad habit of shooting and not post-processing images.
  • If I don’t head out for whatever reason (sick, dying, etc), I will dig through the archives and process at least 2 old images.
  • I will join a photography forum and become a regular contributor.

So far, I’ve been pretty good.  I joined two forums last week and I’ve been out 3 times now for shooting sessions.  I’m happy to say I did actually process those photos and they are up on the website.  3/3 thus far!!

It also makes me feel as if I’m being more productive, rather than sitting at home, constantly thinking I should clean the house – when it’s already clean.  Yes, I do have OCD tendencies.

Well, there it is then.  This should keep me busy for a while.  😉  In the meantime, here are some of our newest works. 

-M.

Posted on February 15, 2010, in M&D Corner, Photography, South Australia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

