Happy New Year!


2010 here we come!

I hope everyone had a fabulous New Year’s Eve last night; Dylan and I headed to Port Noarlunga for some sunset shooting since I am not fond of crowds, and the fireworks… well frankly, been there, done that (at least, that’s so in Adelaide).

Sooo.. Dylan wanted to try out some time lapse photography, and I thought I had better put myself into gear for the new year.  I have been feeling a little uninspired lately and was not picking up the camera as often as I feel I should have (probably still recovering from China).  It’s amazing how much mental strength you need for photographic holidays – or at least that’s how I feel.  Well, I thought to myself, Now is the time to start ‘training’ for it, since we are busy planning our 13 week trip to Iceland, Scotland and Nepal later this year.  13 weeks!!  With Dylan’s talk of sunrise and sunset shoots I hope I get some sleep in between…

Anyway, last night Dylan took the 40D, an 8Gb card, a cable release and a camping chair, and wandered off to find a vantage point to begin his one hour of time lapse photography.  Meanwhile I meandered down the boardwalk to the beach to try and find a location for the evening.  We were quite excited as we could see clouds scudding across the sky (we feel as if every time we want to go shooting all the clouds disappear), and we were not disappointed by the sunset display either.  I’m not sure about anyone else, but of all the places in the world that we’ve been, I still think Adelaide has some of the most spectacular sunsets I’ve seen, and we are lucky that we also have some beautiful coastlines to view them from.

Something I need to get into the habit of doing more often – looking behind!!  This shot of the moonrise was taken just minutes after the one above.

And here is Dylan’s very first attempt at time lapse photography:

Needless to say he was quite excited with the results and I am sure there will be plenty more to come as he refines the technique.

With 2009 now behind us, I would like to extend my appreciation and thanks to everyone who supported us throughout the year in many various ways.  We look forward to making 2010 an even bigger and better year, and we hope that all of you enjoy(ed) safe and happy holidays.

-M.

Posted on January 1, 2010, in Photography, South Australia. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

