Must take photo!


Last week I had the opportunity to test out the scope of all of our lovely new gear. It was as if brain was telling me “you’ve paid big bux for all of this, now get out there and go justify the purchases!”. Sometimes , like a chocolate craving, I get the urge to go out and rediscover adelaide in the hope of coming back with some masterpieces. If only success came at every outing !

Sunday night was mum’s 59th birthday and she wanted Marianne and I to take some images that would provide better quality than their point and shoot. Its always a bit of a challenge to take natural images of family or friends because even though I’m relaxed, there’s a self driven pressure to do an even better job than I otherwise would. Also, someone wandering around with a 5dmkII and flash unit leaves less room for spontaneity than if I were wandering around say with my 10cm lumix! Alicia (my niece) naturally stole the show and is already looking as if she is looking for a modelling career at the tender age of 3!

Alicia Posing

Alicia Posing

The week at work passed uneventfully and ended with the usual TGIF feeling. Marianne was having a night out with old work friends at the Fringe so instead of wasting time at home posting on flickr and other sites, I decided to find a beach, sit down for a couple of hours to do nothing and just watch sunset. Oh and of course, the camera baggage was coming along too. Marino was a good a destination as any and when I arrived, I saw many others had similar ideas.

Sunset HDR : -2EV image blended for sky and water

Sunset HDR : -2EV image blended for sky and water

Into the sun : 3 shot HDR image - monochrome conversion in CS4

Into the sun : 3 shot HDR image - monochrome conversion in CS4

fishing at dusk : 20 second exposure, hand held black card

fishing at dusk : 20 second exposure, hand held black card

After getting wet taking some of the later shots, the plan was to meet Marianne at the fringe festival and take some more happy snaps. However, it seems time did indeed fly while I was having fun and the show at the Fringe was over by 830! Since the city was on the way home, I decided to stop by at the fringe anyway. After some near road rage incidents with everyone else being prats on the road (never my fault of course!) I finally found some street parking and set out very conspicuously with the camera bag and tripod in hand. The garden of unearthly delights is probably the highlight of the fringe for me. If you desire, you can have a raucous time in there but better still, if you’re feeling in a contemplative , academic kind of mood, you can just lay back on hill somewhere and find a spot of peace and quiet.  It struck me later on that the whole scene was quite remarkably similar to the first scene of Fellowship of the Ring with Gandalf’s party at Bag End.

Middle Earth in Adelaide?

Middle Earth in Adelaide?

Saturday was one of those days of pleasure and pain. The pleasure : our 16-35mm lens had arrived! The pain : $2000 for a lens …..ouch (in the face)…..$300 for filters ……ouch in the guts (and lower down too).  Strangely enough, I didn’t have the urge to go out and randomly snap images with the new setup (reminded of the fact that photographers take good photos not the gear!). The first opportunity came the next morning. I’ve been suffering terminal insomnia for quite some time now ; getting up thinking its time for work and finding that its 5am or earlier. Sunday was another one of these days. Instead of lying in bed wandering why I couldn’t sleep in , I wandered out to the city hoping for a colourful dawn. Marianne slept through my exit for once! Dawn was really a non event however, so after a couple of snaps around St Peters Cathedral and short drop-in at work, I returned with the intention of trying to catch another hour of sleep. I was not so successful in not waking Marianne on my re-entry .

Saint Peter's Cathedral at moonfall. 5dmkII + 16-35mm2.8

Saint Peter's Cathedral at moonfall. 5dmkII + 16-35mm2.8

Later that evening , Marianne had her first opportunity to use the new set up at Semaphore beach. Conditions weren’t awfully pleasant with horizontal wind blowing up sand that was a real ankle whipper in thongs. Even though we were tired, we managed to get some reasonable shots and are looking forward to getting even better effects once the CPL and 100mm filters arrive 🙂

Mariannes take on semaphore Jetty at sunset.

Mariannes take on semaphore Jetty at sunset.

Have a great week! Cheers til the next outing at Semaphore kite festival

 -D

Posted on March 26, 2009, in M&D Corner, Photography, South Australia. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. ahhhh!!!! you buys brought the 16-35mm F2.8L II !! great shoots, I think the sweet spot for that lens is somewhere between 22-24mm F8-F11.

    Much sharper compared to the sigma ? the filters are crazily priced.

    why are there so many jetties in SA….

  2. lol more and more awesome photos from both! you guys are proooooooooooo 😀

  3. pro haha – we wish – then I’d do the medicine thing part time 😛

    the 16-25 is pretty sharp – I didn’t post the test shot at 2.8 I took with it but its nice even at 16mm. Circ filters cost alot, Lee filters or singh ray even more ….sigh.

    thanks for the comments btw 😛 , all encouraging 🙂

Leave a Reply

